
Another important industry in early 19th century Canada was tanning. In other words, the processing of animal hides into leather and for manufacture of items such as belts, straps, laces, shoes, and clothing.
The St. Catharines Museum and Welland Canals Centre is helping us celebrate our 150th anniversary of being officially incorporated as a City with a weekly look back into our rich history from a diverse range of perspectives.
In the 1851 census, St. Catharines was noted as the location of one unnamed tannery, likely located along the canal. In 1856, the St. Catharines Tannery was established, owned and operated by W.H. McCordick and located on Chestnut Street – now Carlisle Street – at the raceway to the canal.
W.H. McCordick had previously operated a yard providing coal, wood, white lime, plaster, white rock, flue lining and general building materials. After 1856 he operated the St. Catharines Tannery processing hides. The business was later transferred to his son F.C. McCordick who operated it as McCordick Leather. The company remained in the McCordick family until it was sold in 1969.
As an integral part of local trade, the St. Catharines Board of Trade appointed a contract for a local inspector of hides to ensure the quality of local hides.
This photo shows the St. Catharines Tannery circa 1900. The old canal is located in the background behind the building. (2478-N)