Transportation Advisory Committee

Statement of Purpose

The Transportation Advisory Committee is a volunteer committee established to advise and assist City Council and staff by providing comments on policies, strategies and programs to staff that affect the development, delivery and sustainability of the transportation system within the authority of the City of St. Catharines.

The Committee will:

  • Comment on city-wide strategic priorities relating to policies and guidelines that impact the transportation system. These priorities include active transportation, parking, pedestrian initiatives, operational policies, road reconstruction projects and crossing guards.
  • Operate as a multi-stakeholder group on transportation-related items requested of it by Council, or brought before it by staff.



The Committee shall be comprised of up to 10 members with the following composition:

  • Up to 8 citizen members who possess diverse experience with the various modes of transportation (i.e. vehicular, pedestrian and cycling)
  • Up to 1 representative from the Accessibility Advisory Committee
  • Up to 1 representative from the Recreation Master Plan Advisory Committee

Notwithstanding the Simplified Meetings Procedures for advisory bodies, the Committee may invite non-member participation on sub-committees at the discretion of the Committee.

Term of Appointments

Term of Council, or as determined by Council.

Reporting Structure


The Committee shall report to Council through the Economic Sustainability Committee. The Chair of the Transportation Advisory Committee will also be a member of the Economic Sustainability Committee.

Administrative support to the Transportation Advisory Committee shall be provided by Transportation and Environmental Services, which shall assign a Secretary to the Committee.

Additional staff resources as required from time to time will be provided by Transportation and Environmental Services, or other departments as appropriate.

Membership List

  • Matt Aymar (Vice-Chair)
  • Diane Dupont (Chair)
  • Myda Khatcherian
  • Jorin Lukings
  • David Ringler
  • Amy Romeo
  • Curtis Thompson
  • David Wyllie
  • Diane Foster, representative from Accessibility Advisory Committee
  • Jim Richardson, representative from Recreation Master Plan Advisory Committee
  • Steve Bittner, Transportation Technologist (staff liaison)

 Schedule of Meetings


The Committee will meet quarterly, as required, or at the discretion of the Chair.



The Committee shall conduct its meetings in accordance with and otherwise comply with the City of St. Catharines Simplified Meeting Procedures for advisory bodies.

Copyright © 2014 The Corporation of the City of St. Catharines