Mayor & Council

The City of St. Catharines is governed by a Mayor and 12 councillors, who are elected every four years.

The Mayor is elected at large, which means all citizens eligible to vote choose from the same mayoral candidates when casting a ballot. By contrast, councillors are elected to represent one of six wards. Voters within a specific ward elect two councillors.

The Mayor of St. Catharines is Walter Sendzik.

St. Catharines wards and councillors are:

  • Ward 1 Merritton: Greg Miller and Lori Littleton
  • Ward 2 St. Andrew's: Matthew Harris and Joseph Kushner
  • Ward 3 St. George's: Sal Sorrento and Kevin Townsend  
  • Ward 4 St. Patrick's: Karrie Porter and Mathew Siscoe
  • Ward 5 Grantham: Dawn Dodge and Bill Phillips
  • Ward 6 Port Dalhousie: Carlos Garcia and Bruce Williamson

Mayor and City Council 2018-2022

Office of the Mayor

Phone Number
Mayor Walter Sendzik 905.688.5601 ext. 1540
Grantham Ward  
Coun. Dawn Dodge 905.933.0373 
Coun. Bill Phillips 905.327.5363
Merritton Ward    

Coun. Lori Littleton


Coun. Greg Miller

Port Dalhousie Ward  
Coun. Carlos Garcia 905.937.7012 or 289.697.2749 (mobile)
Coun. Bruce Williamson 905.934.2787 or 905.327.9754 (mobile)
St. Andrew's Ward  
Coun. Matt Harris 905.329.6802
Coun. Joe Kushner 905.685.1817 or 905.327.9638 (mobile)
St. George's Ward  
Coun. Sal Sorrento 289.696.3673
Coun. Kevin Townsend 905.327.0401
St. Patrick's Ward  
Coun. Karrie Porter 905.327.0473
Coun. Mat Siscoe 905.329.8162

Accountability and Transparnecy for Elected Officials

Please visit our Accountability and Transparency for Elected Officials and Advisory Committee, Board and Task Force Members page for information on:

  • The City's Code of Conduct
  • Conflicts of interest
  • The Integrity Commissioner
  • Freedom of information requests
  • Closed (in-camera) meetings
  • The Ontario Ombudsman


Copyright © 2014 The Corporation of the City of St. Catharines