Economic Sustainability Committee

Economic sustainability is the ability of an economy to support a defined level of economic production indefinitely. With the current economic times, it is important to focus on ways of supporting existing businesses and encouraging new private investments in our community through proper planning.

Advisory Committees

  • Downtown Development Revitalization Advisory Committee
  • Transportation Advisory Committee (combines the previous Parking Advisory Committee and Active Transportation Advisory Committee)

Statement of Purpose

The Economic Sustainability Committee is an advisory committee comprised of members of Council and citizen members, and is established to:

  • Review and approve the work plans of advisory committees assigned to their sustainability pillar to ensure that work is aligned with Council’s strategic priorities and guiding documents, including the Strategic Plan.
  • Ensure that advisory committee work plans do not overlap or conflict with the work plans or terms of reference of other advisory committees.
  • Identify opportunities for advisory committees to collaborate, coordinate or consult when terms of reference or work plans involve related matters.
  • Recommend to Council changes to advisory committee terms of reference, composition or continuance as required.
  • Make recommendations to Council about advisory committee appointments.
  • Receive advisory committee presentations / reports.
  • At the request of Council, review strategies, projects, policies, and initiatives that align with the Strategic Plan’s economic sustainability goals and action items.

Advisory Committees assigned to the Economic Sustainability Advisory Committee will report to that Committee and not directly to Council, except as determined by the Economic Sustainability Advisory Committee.


 The committee shall be as follows:

  • Up to three members of Council;
  • Each Chair of those advisory committees that report to the Economic Sustainability Advisory Committee; and
  • Two members of City Staff appointed by the Chief Administrative Officer.

Council members of the Economic Sustainability Committee shall be ex-officio members of all advisory committees, but shall be non-voting and are not included in the quorum of advisory committees. 


The Committee may invite non-member participation at the discretion of the Committee.

Term of Appointment

 Term of Council, or as determined by City Council. 

Reporting Structure

The Economic Sustainability Advisory Committee reports to City Council.

Administrative support to the Economic Sustainability Advisory Committee shall be provided by the Mayor's Office, which shall assign a Secretary to the Committee.

Additional staff resources as required from time to time will be provided by the applicable departments.  


Schedule of Meetings

The Committee will meet quarterly or at the discretion of the Chair. 

Membership List

Council Representatives

Committee Representatives

  • Diane Dupont, Chair, Transportation Advisory Committee
  • Kelly Burke, Vice-Chair, Downtown Development Revitalization Advisory Committee

Staff Representatives

  • Kristine Douglas, Director of Financial Management Services
  • Brian York, Director of Economic Development and Government Relations 
  • Scott Ritchie, Urban Design Planner (Staff Liaison - Downtown Development Revitalization Advisory Committee)
  • Steve Bittner, Transportation Technologist (Staff Liaison - Transportation Advisory Committee)
  • Leanne Kurek, Administrative Support


The Committee shall conduct its meetings in accordance with and otherwise comply with the City of St. Catharines Simplified Meeting Procedures for advisory bodies

Copyright © 2014 The Corporation of the City of St. Catharines