Stay Informed
e-newsletter Icon

Join our Mailing Lists to stay in the loop

The latest news and council updates delivered to your inbox. Sign up for our e-newsletters.

Facebook Icon
Twitter Icon


Download our Pingstreet App   Construction-Map   Public Notices

Cultural Advisory Committees

Cultural sustainability is actions and issues that affect how communities manifest identity, preserve and cultivate traditions, and develop belief systems and commonly accepted values.

Advisory Committees

  • Arts and Culture Advisory Committee
  • Heritage Advisory Committee
    (combines the Port Dalhousie Heritage District Advisory Committee and the St. Catharines Heritage Committee)
  • Heritage Permit Advisory Committee (new committee)
  • Public Art Advisory Committee
  • St. Catharines Museum Advisory Committee

Statement of Purpose

The Cultural Sustainability Committee is an advisory committee comprised of members of Council and citizen members, and is established to:

  • Review and approve the work plans of advisory committees assigned to their sustainability pillar to ensure that advisory committees are aligned with term of Council strategic priorities and the City Sustainability Strategy ("Tending the Garden City").
  • Ensure that advisory committee work plans do not overlap or conflict with the work plans or terms of reference of other advisory committees.
  • Identify opportunities for advisory committees to collaborate, coordinate or consult when terms of reference or work plans involve related matters.
  • Recommend to Council changes to advisory committee terms of reference, composition or continuance as required. 
  • Coordinate advisory committees' presentations/reports to Council.

Advisory Committees assigned to the Cultural Sustainability Advisory Committee will report to that Committee and not directly to Council, except as determined by the Cultural Sustainability Advisory Committee.



 The committee shall be as follows:

  • Up to 3 members of Council;
  • Each Chair of those advisory committees that report to the Cultural Sustainability Advisory Committee; and
  • 2 members of City Staff appointed by the Chief Administrative Officer.

Council members of the Cultural Sustainability Committee shall be ex officio members of all advisory committees, but shall be non-voting and are not included in the quorum of advisory committees.

Term of Appointment

 Term of Council, or as determined by City Council

Reporting Structure

The Cultural Sustainability Advisory Committee reports to City Council.

Administrative support to the Cultural Sustainability Advisory Committee shall be provided by the Mayor's Office, which shall assign a Secretary to the Committee.

Additional staff resources as required from time to time will be provided by the applicable departments.

Schedule of Meetings

 The Committee will meet quarterly or at the discretion of the Chair.

Membership List

  • Councillor Carlos Garcia, Chair
  • Councillor Bruce Williamson, Vice Chair
  • Councillor Joe Kushner
  • Jeff McCormick, Acting Chief, Fire and Emergency Services
  • Steve Solski, Executive Director, FirstOnt PAC
  • Jennifer Wallace, Chair - Arts and Culture Committee
  • Brian Narhi, Chair -Heritage Permit Committee and Co Chair - Heritage Advisory Committee  
  • Robin McPherson, Co Chair - Heritage Advisory Committee
  • Peter Vietgen, Chair - Public Art Advisory Committee
  • Robert DeWolfe, Co Chair - St. Catharines Museum Advisory Committee
  • Michael O'Neill, Co Chair - St. Catharines Museum Advisory Committee
  • Kevin Blozowski, Staff Liaison - Heritage Advisory Committee,        Heritage Permit Advisory Committee
  • Kathleen Powell, Staff Liaison - St. Catharines Museum Advisory Committee
  • Julie Hughes, Administrative Support






Copyright © 2014 The Corporation of the City of St. Catharines