Stay Informed
e-newsletter Icon

Join our Mailing Lists to stay in the loop

The latest news and council updates delivered to your inbox. Sign up for our e-newsletters.

Facebook Icon
Twitter Icon


Download our Pingstreet App   Construction-Map   Public Notices

Clean City Advisory Committee

Statement of Purpose

The Clean City Advisory Committee is a volunteer committee established to advocate for a cleaner community and to advise and assist City Council and staff by:

  • Providing input and comments on policies, plans and programs to create a cleaner city, including but not limited to policies, plans and programs related to litter and graffiti control.
  • Facilitating community involvement through public awareness campaigns and organized community activities and events.
  • Exploring partnerships with other volunteer groups, community organizations and interested individuals to promote a cleaner community.


The committee shall be comprised of up to 11 members as follows:

  • 1 representative from the St. Catharines Downtown Association (BIA)
  • Up to 8 citizen members of the community

The District School Board of Niagara and the Niagara Catholic District School Board are invited to participate by sending a representative to committee meetings. These representatives shall be non-voting and will not count toward quorum.

Reporting Structure 

The Clean City Advisory Committee reports to City Council through the Environmental Sustainability Committee. The Chair of the Clean City Advisory Committee will also be a member of the Environmental Sustainability Committee.

Administrative support to the Clean City Advisory Committee shall be provided by the Transportation and Environmental Services Department, which shall assign a Secretary to the Committee.

Additional staff resources as required from time to time will be provided by the following departments:

  • 1 representative from Parks, Recreation and Culture Services
  • 1 representative from Transportation and Environmental Services

Membership Term

Term of Council, or as determined by City Council.

Membership List

  • Elaine Manocha (chair)
  • Tisha Polocko (co-chair)
  • Kris Akilie
  • Jonathan Belgrave Sookhoo
  • Cheryl Crawley
  • Tony Dellaventura
  • Elizabeth Krajewski
  • Karen Sabzali
  • Holly Washuta
  • Patrick Conway (City of St. Catharines)
  • John Bellehumeur (City of St. Catharines)
  • Mauro Becchetti (City of St. Catharines)
  • Paula Hornall (City of St. Catharines)

Member Schedule and Location(s)

The Committee will meet every second month or at the discretion of the Chair.

Copyright © 2014 The Corporation of the City of St. Catharines