Accessibility Advisory Committee

Statement of Purpose

The Accessibility Advisory Committee is comprised of volunteers that promote a barrier-free and inclusive environment for all. 

The Committee's role is to make recommendations to City Council regarding the requirements and implementation of accessibility standards relating to City services or facilities, and will:
  • Endorse an Accessibility Plan, which establishes priorities and achievable objectives related to legislative compliance;
  • Assist with creating an equitable and inclusive environment in our city;
  • Promote municipal accessibility endeavours and successes;
  • Review site plans and make recommendations regarding accessibility.



The Accessibility Advisory Committee is comprised of up to 12 members as follows:

  • A majority of the membership shall be persons with disabilities;
  • Members shall be representative of a various range of disabilities, visible and invisible, as defined in the Act.
  • At least two members shall be citizens who are 65 years of age or older.
  • At least one member shall be a caregiver of children and adolescents with disabilities.
  • Other members shall be experts relating to disability, such as but not limited to, professional skills, personal experiences.

Reporting Structure

The Accessibility Advisory Committee is a statutory committee reporting to Council through the Social Sustainability Committee. The Chair of the Accessibility Advisory Committee will also be a member of the Social Sustainability Committee.

Administrative support to the Committee is provided by a Staff Liaison through Corporate Support Services. 

Membership Term

Term of Council, or as determined by City Council. 

Membership List

Meeting Schedule and Location(s)

Meetings are usually held monthly, on the fourth Wednesday of the month at City Hall in the Burgoyne Woods Room. Please see the events calendar for the current schedule.




More information is available on the City's corporate accessibility page.
Copyright © 2014 The Corporation of the City of St. Catharines