Stay Informed
e-newsletter Icon

Join our Mailing Lists to stay in the loop

The latest news and council updates delivered to your inbox. Sign up for our e-newsletters.

Facebook Icon
Twitter Icon


Ping-Street---3-tile.jpg   Construction-Map---3-tile.jpg   Public Notices


Planning and Building Services

City of St. Catharines
PO Box 3012, 50 Church St.
St. Catharines, ON L2R 7C2

Tel: 905.688.5601 x1660

Fax: 905.688.5873

TTY: 905.688.4TTY (4889)


Create a map to City Hall

Email Planning and Building Services

St. Catharines Heritage Committee

Committee Type

Advisory committee or task force


The St Catharines Heritage District Committee (formerly Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee) was established by the City of St. Catharines in 1976 to advise Council on city-wide heritage matters pursuant to the Ontario Heritage Act.


The vision of the committee is to advise Council on measures to protect and enhance heritage resources based on applicable legislation, policies and regulations as well as conventionally accepted conservation methods and practices.


The St. Catharines Heritage Committee's (SCHC) main duty is to advise and assist Council on heritage-related matters specific to individual property designation and heritage district designation required by the Ontario Heritage Act as well as changes to designated properties. Related activities include:  

  • Surveys, inventories and researches properties and areas that may deserve recognition.
  • Focuses its efforts toward designating the most important heritage resources in the community and assists owners and neighbourhood groups seeking designation for their properties and neighbourhoods.
  • Recognizes the stewardship efforts of designated property owners by hosting a ceremony for them and presenting them with a bronze plaque for their building.
  • Stays current on heritage conservation practice for ways to promote heritage to the community.
  • Helps property owners find viable, economical, maintenance and alteration solutions that are sympathetic to their building.
  • Provides council with reliable advice on all heritage matters (e.g. adaptive re-use options for vacant buildings)


Membership is open to anyone who resides, and is an eligible voter, in the City of St. Catharines.

Voting Membership

Voting membership consists of 13 volunteer members from the community and one councillor.

Membership Responsibility

Members shall observe all corporate policies of the City of St. Catharines with respect to the Code of Conduct and Harassment policies and make every effort to attend all meetings.

Membership Term

Members are appointed for the term of Council (four years).

Membership List

  • John Bacher
  • Gail Benjafield
  • John Crawley
  • Heather Foss
  • Dennis Gannon
  • John C. Haynes
  • Calvin L. Jessome
  • Chris Loat
  • Marty Mako
  • Robin McPherson (Co-Chair)
  • Brian K. Narhi (Co-Chair)
  • Coun. Mathew Siscoe
  • Planning and Building Services (1) representative

Meeting Schedule & Location(s)

The Committee meets the second Thursday of every month at City Hall.

Copyright © 2014 The Corporation of the City of St. Catharines