Stay Informed
e-newsletter Icon

Join our Mailing Lists to stay in the loop

The latest news and council updates delivered to your inbox. Sign up for our e-newsletters.

Facebook Icon
Twitter Icon


Ping-Street---3-tile.jpg   Construction-Map---3-tile.jpg   Public Notices


Mayor's Advisory Committee on Accessibility

Attention: Diana Lecinski

City of St. Catharines
PO Box 3012, 50 Church St.
St. Catharines, ON L2R 7C2

Tel: 905.688.5601 x1510

Fax: 905.682.3631

TTY: 905.688.4TTY (4889)


Create a map to City Hall

Email the Mayor's Advisory Committee on Accessibility

Mayor's Advisory Committee on Accessibility

Committee Type

Advisory committee or task force


The St. Catharines' Mayor's Advisory Committee on Accessibility (MACOA) advocates to improve access and opportunities to maximize the participation and inclusion of persons with disabilities in the City of St. Catharines.

The committee reviews and recommends to Council an Accessibility Plan as defined in Bill 125, Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001 and advises on standards implemented through Bill 118, Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, AODA 2005.

More information is available on the City's corporate accessibility page.

The Mayor's Advisory Committee on Accessibility's purpose includes advising on the identification and prevention of barriers in the City of St. Catharines' facilities and services through:

  • Public awarenes
  • Co-operation and communication
  • Promotion and education


Since 1998, the vision of the Mayor's Advisory Committee on Accessibility is an inclusive and accessible City of St. Catharines.

Watch a Close-Captioned Video about Accessibility in St. Catharines

View MACOA's Sidewalk Action Statement


The goals of the Mayor's Advisory Committee on Accessibility are to:

  • Create and make public an annual accessibility plan
  • Advise on provincial standards relating to accessibility
  • Increase awareness and make recommendations relating to accessibility in City facilities and services
  • Review site plans and make recommendations relating to accessibility
  • Promote City of St. Catharines barrier removal endeavors and successes
  • Advocate with all sectors of the community the benefits of an inclusive community


Membership is open to citizens who reside and/or are property owners in the City of St. Catharines and who are 18 years of age or older. The majority of the members shall be persons with a disability and all members shall be knowledgeable on the provincial accessibility legislation and/or have an expertise relating to persons with a disability.

Voting Membership

The committee consists of 12 voting members. Voting membership shall consist of the Mayor (or Council designate) and 11 citizens who have been appointed through the City's appointment process.

Membership Responsibility

Members shall observe all corporate policies of the City of St. Catharines with respect to conduct, harassment and discrimination and be cognizant of the mandate of the Mayor's Advisory Committee on Accessibility.

Each member of the committee is recognized as an independent representative to the committee who does not represent the concerns of only one group or special interest.

Members work together in order to develop a common approach that is reasonable and practical.

A committee member shall make every effort to attend all meetings. The appointment of a citizen member to a committee shall be rescinded should the member be absent from three consecutive meetings or absent from more than 50 per cent of the meetings in one year, unless excused by the committee due to extenuating circumstances.

Membership Term

The term of appointment for committee membership shall be a four-year term concurrent with the term of Council. However, due to occasional vacancies occurring within the term of appointment, membership applications are accepted on an on-going basis and referred to for interim appointment should a vacancy occur prior to the term expiring.

Membership List

  • Coun. Matthew Harris for Mayor McMullan, ex-officio and Co-Chairperson
  • Shelley Stewart, Co-Chairperson
  • Diane Foster, Co-Chairperson
  • Bob Asham
  • Steve Byers
  • Chantal Barrette
  • Ian Crawford
  • Stephen Kurtic-Lentinello
  • Julie Morris
  • Linda Marie O'Hagan
  • David Reed
  • Mary Jane Waszynski

Meeting Schedule & Location(s)

The Mayor's Advisory Committee on Accessibility meets on the fourth Wednesday of each month (except December) at 1:30 p.m. at City Hall in Committee Room One. Meetings in July and August are tentative and at the call of the committee.

Copyright © 2014 The Corporation of the City of St. Catharines