Stay Informed
e-newsletter Icon

Join our Mailing Lists to stay in the loop

The latest news and council updates delivered to your inbox. Sign up for our e-newsletters.

Facebook Icon
Twitter Icon


Ping-Street---3-tile.jpg   Construction-Map---3-tile.jpg   Public Notices


Graffiti Committee

Attention: Julie Hughes
City of St. Catharines
PO Box 3012, 50 Church St.
St. Catharines, ON L2R 7C2

Tel: 905.688.5601 x1542

Fax: 905.688.5955

TTY: 905.688.4TTY (4889)


Create a map to City Hall

Email the Graffiti Committee

Graffiti Committee

Committee Type

Advisory committee or task force


City Council, at its October 17, 2005 meeting, created the Mayor's Graffiti Committee. The purpose of the committee is to bring together individuals and groups from the community who share a common vision of ridding the city of the blight of graffiti.


To deter the act of graffiti, to have graffiti removed from public and private property in an expeditious manner and to promote city graffiti programs.

To report graffiti please call 905-688-5600 


To use the resources of the group and to explore partnerships with outside organizations in a concerted effort to develop educational initiatives, support graffiti removal programs, explore mural programs and other initiatives which seek to deter graffiti vandalism in St. Catharines. The committee also seeks to create and recommend bylaws to Council which addresses its goals. 


Membership consists of the Mayor and two councillor representatives, several staff members who act in an advisory capacity and several members of the community who have been appointed by City Council.

Voting Membership

The staff members from the City of St. Catharines are not considered voting members. The remainder of the committee does have voting privileges.

Membership Responsibility

Members shall observe all corporate policies of the City of St. Catharines with respect to the Code of Conduct and Harassment policies and make every effort to attend all meetings.

Membership Term

The two councillor representatives are appointed for a term of one year. The members from the community are appointed for the duration of the committee.

Membership List

Members of City Council:

  • Mayor Walter Sendzik
  • Coun. Joe Kushner (alternate)

City of St. Catharines Staff:

  • Stuart Green, Landscape Architect, Recreation and Community Services
  • Kristen Sullivan, Project and Development Planner, Recreation and Community Services
  • Stacey Wells, Assistant City Solicitor, Legal
  • Julie Hughes, Mayor's Office

Community Representation:

  • Ben Wilby, John Howard Society
  • Tony DellaVentura, Niagara Catholic District School Board
  • Daniel Frye, St. Catharines Community Policing
  • Dave Schulz, Office of MP Rick Dykstra
  • Michelle Gagnon
  • Holly Washuta, Clean City Committee
  • Kris Akilie, Mainstream Services
  • Milica Kovacevich
  • Filomena Goldsworthy, District School Board of Niagara
  • Paul Jackson, Niagara Regional Police
  • Selby Harris, AKEW:GO
  • Stacey Sheehan, Crown Attorney's Office
  • Tisha Polocko, Downtown Association

Meeting Schedule & Location(s)

Every three months or as required. The next meeting will be arranged and posted for 2015..

Copyright © 2014 The Corporation of the City of St. Catharines