Stay Informed
e-newsletter Icon

Join our Mailing Lists to stay in the loop

The latest news and council updates delivered to your inbox. Sign up for our e-newsletters.

Facebook Icon
Twitter Icon


Ping-Street---3-tile.jpg   Construction-Map---3-tile.jpg   Public Notices


Culture Committee

Attention: Jason Cadieux

Recreation & Community Services
320 Geneva St.
Catharines, ON L2N 2G6

Tel: 905.688.5601 x5229

Fax: 905.984.6910

TTY: 905.688.4TTY (4889)


Create a map to Cultural Services Offices, Recreation & Community Services

Email the Culture Committee

Culture Committee

Committee Type

Advisory Committee or Task Force.


The Culture Committee is a committee of City Council that was established in March 2001.

The following purpose is from the Culture Committee's Terms of Reference:

The St. Catharines Culture Committee is a volunteer committee established to advise City Council and staff on policies, plans and programs related to the arts and cultural sector of St. Catharines. The committee will act as advocates for culture on behalf of the City within the community, and provide informed perspectives on culture-related matters within the municipality. The committee reports to City Council through the Recreation and Community Services [Parks, Recreation and Culture Services] department.


The following vision from the Municipal Cultural Policy guides the Culture Committee:

We view St. Catharines as a livable city, which: 

  • Recognizes the contribution of culture
  • Promotes access to cultural opportunity for all citizens
  • Encourages diverse artistic creation
  • Acts responsibly to pass on cultural legacies entrusted to us, and
  • Integrates culture into the city's broader vision and goals.


 The following goals are from the Municipal Cultural Policy:

  • To facilitate the development of the cultural community and its ability to provide cultural opportunities for the citizens of St. Catharines
  • To support self-determination for the cultural community, recognizing that autonomy and self-direction by cultural groups and individuals are critical to vibrant cultural production 
  • To collaborate with the cultural community towards developing sustainable financial support for cultural activity 
  • To promote art in public places 
  • To use human and financial resources judiciously through collaborative management based on clear mandates, task identification and delivery of services 
  • To promote collaboration amongst city departments in reflection of the multi-disciplinary nature of culture, recognizing that culture, the urban environment, economic development and tourism benefit one another through integrated and collaborative planning.


Membership is open to citizens who reside in and/or are property owners in the City of St. Catharines and who are 18 years of age or older.

The Culture Committee shall be comprised of up to 19 members from the community, City Council and staff, and organizational representation, as follows:

  • One City Councillor
  • Eight members of the cultural community
  • Two artists, of any discipline
  • Representative from the Ministry of Culture (Non-voting, resource person)
  • St. Catharines Museum Supervisor (ex-officio)
  • CEO, St. Catharines Public Library (ex-officio)
  • CEO or designate, future performing arts centre
  • CEO or designate, St. Catharines and Area Arts Council
  • CEO or designate, St. Catharines Folk Arts Council Multicultural Centre
  • Representative from Economic Development and Tourism Services (ex-officio)
  • Cultural Planning Supervisor, Parks, Recreation and Culture Services (ex-officio)

Voting Membership

All members are eligible to vote unless otherwise noted, with the exception of City employees who are ex-officio.ex-officio

Membership Responsibility

The Culture Committee is currently in the process of developing a Municipal Culture Plan. A sub-committee of the Culture Committee reviews annual applications to the St. Catharines Cultural Investment Program and makes recommendations to Council for funding through this program. A sub-committee of the Culture Committee orginized the annual City of St. Catharines Arts Awards which will return in 2015.

Membership Term

The Culture Committee's term is as per City Council's four-year term. The current term began with the 2010 election and will end in conjunction with the 2014 election.

Membership List

  • Coun. Mark Elliott
  • Tracy Cotton
  • Monica Dufault
  • Angela Harris
  • Sandy Middleton  
  • Brian Narhi
  • Wynne Nicholson  
  • Rick Rochon
  • Jennifer Hay, Ministry of Culture (ex-officio)
  • Laurie Sadowski 
  • Peter Vietgen (Public Art Advisory Committee)
  • Jennifer Wallace  
  • Andrea Wilson
  • Jason Cadieux, Culture Coordinator
  • Rebecca Cann, Cultural Planning Supervisor 
  • Kim Payne, Tourism Development Officer 
  • Kathleen Powell, Supervisor of Museum Operations/Curator
  • Steve Solski, Executive Director, Performing Arts Centre
  • Lilita Stripnieks, CEO, St. Catharines Public Library

Meeting Schedule & Location(s)

The Culture Committee typically meets on the first Tuesday of each month in a room at City Hall.

In The Soil: Niagara's Homegrown Arts Festival, funded by SCCIP 2010 - Photo by Sandy Middleton

Copyright © 2014 The Corporation of the City of St. Catharines