Recognizing the need for preservation at the municipal level, the Ontario Government established legislation for the preservation of heritage properties in 1974 with the passage of the Ontario Heritage Act.  Municipalities were delegated the authority to take an active role in the conservation and preservation of heritage properties found within their boundaries. Specifically, the act enables the municipal council to designate, protect and enhance properties and areas of architectural, historical and contextual value.


In 1976, the City of St. Catharines established the Local Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee (LACAC) to advise Council regarding heritage conservation measures as set out in the Ontario Heritage Act. Today, there are two advisory committees, namely the St. Catharines Heritage Committee and the Port Dalhousie Heritage District Advisory Committee, that advise Council on heritage matters.

Since that time, more than 35 individual properties have been designated under the Ontario Heritage Act. In addition, the Queen Street Heritage Conservation District designation received final approval from the Ontario Municipal Board in 1992. The Yates Street area was designated as a second heritage district in 1996, Port Dalhousie was designated in 2003 and in 2010, the Power Glen Heritage Conservation District was designated.

Visit the St. Catharines Heritage Committee page.

Visit the Port Dalhousie Heritage District Advisory Committee page. 

Heritage Permits

If you live in a designated heritage home or are located within one of the city's heritge districts, you may require a heritage permit prior to making certain changes to your property.  

Visit the Heritage Permits page.


Photo of Morningstar Mill
Copyright © 2013 The Corporation of the City of St. Catharines